Sugar eyeliner review

DISCLAIMER: This post is going to be longer than usual because I have a fun story to share!

It’s crazy how one swipe of an eyeliner can change your entire look and decide how your eyes appear and this is why it is really important to find a good and a durable liner. For this post I have decided to review the ‘Eye told you so!’ smudge proof eyeliner in the shade Black Swan-01 by Sugar Cosmetics.

Before I get to the review, I want to share my I-got-really-lucky story about how I got my hands on the Sugar Liner. So I had placed my order for The Big Bang Berry vivid matte lipstick with sugar in May last year.  Around that time Sugar wasn’t as big a brand as it is today and it reckon it maintained a very limited stock. After placing my order, much to my delight, the lipstick stock got over and I received an e-mail that said the order could be delivered only after two months now, that is in July.  With that message, came a deal- They gave me two options:

  1. To cancel my order.
  2. To wait for my order to be delivered in July and select either their Kajal or Liner as a compensation for the delay.

I obviously went for the second option because, number one, I wasn’t in any hurry to recieve the lipstick and number two, WHO DOES NOT LOVE FREE STUFF? In July, 2016 i recieved a ‘Big bang berry’ vivid matte lipstick and an ‘Eye told you so!’ eyeliner just for Rs.549 (549 because 10% off on first order XD)! YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

Now coming to the review, let’s start with the packaging. To be very honest, packaging was the very reason I decided to buy sugar. I happened to land on it’s website through their online promotions and I loved the packaging so much that i just couldn’t resist- the beautiful graphic print and the sorted website got me! I usually do budget shopping, so buying a lipstick worth Rs.600 isn’t something I would consciouslly do. I did not go through any reviews and blindly placed the order JUST for the packaging. The liner comes in a sleek black container and is air-tight making it travel friendly with an outer digital print cardboard box pack that oozes class. Sugar surely has understood the Jo-dikhta-hai-vo-bikta-hai mantra very well.


It is a highly pigmented, smudgeproof, jet black liquid liner, dries matte within seconds. The consistency of the liquid is just right and moves smoothly onto the eyelids without any clogs or patches. Just one stroke is enough to define the eyes well. It stays for good 5-6 hours (invalidating Sugars’ 24-hour stay claim), if untouched,then starts coming off from the inner corners of the eyes.


One thing that I love about the liner is the applicator. The wand is of just the right length and has a sponge brush that picks the right amout of product. It’s pointed at the end and gradually thickens that makes applying the thinnest and the thickest line a cakewalk. A great option for beginners to go for.


The liner is not waterproof and comes off very easily. You can even rub it off with your finger. If you’re looking for a liner that doesn’t come off easily, then this isn’t for you.

Pros:

  1. Great Consistency.
  2. Air-tight packaging; hence, does not dry even after a year.
  3. Precise applicator making it great for beginners.
  4. Delivers the quality for price.
  5. Attractive and travel friendly packaging.
  6. Highly pigmented.
  7. Dries quickly.
  8. Smudge-proof

Cons:

  1. Not waterproof
  2. Does not stand the 24-hour stay claim.
  3. Comes off very easily; You can rub it off with your bare, dry finger only.

This is all about the Sugar ‘Eye told you so’ eyeliner. Do share your views on the review or experience with the liner in the comments below.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Sugar eyeliner review

Leave a Reply

